Bits My Way


Dear JaYne

Posted in 1 by jog67 on 11/01/2009

This is my “Dear JaYne” journey…

Early 2008:  I attended a DJ starter class at SomerSet Patchwork with my friend Vikki.  My idea was originally to do civil war fabrics close to the orginal DJ, but then decided I would do pink & brown civil war fabrics starting pale in the middle and deeping out to the edges to red and chocolate.   The cones would be a mix of the fabrics used in the blocks.  I  never said I would do the “whole quilt” …. just see where I end up.  This quilt will be my “in between projects Project”!

Now I’ve been playing with the blocks again for my blog I’ve got the urge to make a few more …. and even thinking about getting the DJ software!

Tips I’ve picked up:

  • Take you DJ book to OfficeWorks – have them cut off the spine, then bind it with clear pastic covers for the front and back covers.  This enables you to have book flat when drafting patterns.
  • Copy and/or enlarge the chart in the book (page 12) if you are not using the DJ software.  Cut out squares of your fabric and glue on the sheet for planning colour/fabric placement.
  • When constructing the quilt top, divide the quilt into a nine patch and stitch blocks in groupings, then put together as a large nine patch.

Blocks done to date:

A3, A6, A7, A8, B3, B4, B8, C9, D6, D7, D8, C7, H6, H13, I11, J4 AND another 10 cut ready to sew.

One Response to 'Dear JaYne'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Dear JaYne'.

  1. Julie D said,

    Stunning blocks Jayne, I am feeling very encouraged by your work, it is good to feel a spur in my side, to keep me working. Your blocks give me inspiration! Thanks!


Leave a comment