Bits My Way


My Quilts

Posted in 1 by jog67 on 11/01/2009

Here is a collection of my quilts made to date, or in progress….

2008/09 “Morell Quilt” I’m attending classes over a 6 month period for this quilt designed by Di Ford, she is teaching at Needles & Pins in Warrandyte.

 

2008 “Makara’s Quilt (#2)” made for her single bed.  The block construction was made from a pattern (name?) from Somerset Patchwork.  I added my own touches with embroidered “M”s and embroidered words and hearts made of little embroidered flowers – needle turned flowers are also scattered through the blocks.  The border just needs to be done, this will be scalloped and have needle turned flowers on it too.

Makara's Quilt #2

Makara's Quilt #2

April 2008 “Makara’s Quilt (#1)”  is an original design of mine and made for my daughter Makara, a cot size quilt.  The flowers are blanket stitched applique and the border is machine pieced.  I hand quilted it using pearle thread, which was really great to do.

Makara's Quilt

Makara's Quilt

2008 BOM “Joy of Life” by Rosalie Quinlan.  Machine pieced and needle turn applique. Still to be quilted.

Joy of Life

Joy of Life

Early 2008 “Dear Jane” was started – see this quilt’s own page!

2008 “Autum Leaves” charity quilt.  This quilt was made jointly with my friend Vikki and a group of ladies that I worked with at Maroondah City Council.  Many of the ladies hand not sewn before, and they did very well.  I machine sewn all the blocks together and quilted in the ditch.  The quilt will be donated to a local CFA for their fundraising.

Autum Leaves

Autum Leaves

2007 “Stars & Hexagons” another quilt that was started with no end in sight!  The pattern is from Somerset Patchwork using their templates.  I’m just got to finish the border triangles!

Stars & Hexagon's

Stars & Hexagon's

2006 “Double Wedding Ring” was started in a class held at Michelle’s Sewing Basket.  This was very challenging, but made  little easier using visoflex for the foundation piecing method.  We also used the curve-master foot, mine broke and so did a few others in the class, so I continued with a normal foot.  This is still to be completed, but I have revised the size of the quilt – downsized definately!

Double Wedding Ring

Double Wedding Ring

2005/6 “Grandmothers Garden – #2″ again, couldn’t get enough of those  little hexagons!  Another quilt started as a little project that kept on going and grew into a decent sized quilt.  This was hand pieced, and is waiting to be machined quilted.

Grandmothers Garden #2

Grandmothers Garden #2

2004 “Grandmother’s Garden” started out as a little hand project for the drive to a friend’s engagement party in Bathurst.  I enjoyed putting the hexagon’s together so much I couldn’t stop when I got home.  Made of  more Robyn Pandoloph fabric!  This is still a hand quilting project in the works.

Grandmother's Garden

Grandmother's Garden

2004 “Waiting for a Girl” quilt was made out of the desire for something girly – an original design.  The dresden plate were hand needle turn applique, I also add prairie points as part of the binding.  My obsession with Robyn Pandolph fabrics continued.

photo coming

Winter 2003 “Dad’s Quilt” this was quick scrappy quilt I made for Dad, I tied the quilt instead of machine quilting it.  Funny, Dad preferred the back of the quilt to the front!  The back has a very wide stripe of purple fabric with a strip of green either side.

Dad's Quilt

Dad's Quilt

2003 “Ring a Round the Rosie” pattern designer unknown.  I hand appliqued and hand quilted this wall hanging.  It was the start of my obsession with red and quilt quilts.  Little did I know that I was to have that “girl” I was waiting for!

Ring around the Rosie

Ring around the Rosie

May 2003 “Ethan’s Quilt” was made using Rosalie Quinlan’s  pattern “Rebekah Amy’s quilt”. I bought the fabric in the middle of 2000 when I was pregnant with Ethan not knowing I was having a boy!  It was the Debbie Mumm ‘Noah’s Ark’ range of fabrics.  I machine pieced and quilted it all in one weekend! It was the quickest quilt I’ve ever made.

Ethan's Quilt

Ethan's Quilt

2002 “Snuggly Flannel” an original design, I want a quick simple project and used flannel for the first time.  I cut up my husband’s flanlette shirt I hated on him – but love in the quilt.  This is the quilt I always take camping because it’s the warmest having the following sandwich: flannel, cotton wadding and polar fleece backing.  The quilt was machine quilted by Jules Quilting.  It’s also my son Ethan’s favourite.

 

2002 “Flower Quilt #51″ a wall hanging pattern by Bareroots, a variety of stitchery blocks.  I recently gave this to a friend as it no longer suited by decor, you know how your style changes! . Mines gone from country to new country/shabby chic/french provincial!

Bareroots - Flower Quilt #51

Bareroots - Flower Quilt #51

Christmas 2001 “19th Century Baskets” a pattern by Di Ford of Primarily Patchwork (no long around).  My christmas present this year was all the facbric to make this quilt for our queen size bed.  The four centre blocks are 40″ square each, they are surround by a saw tooth border then a very large elaborated aqpplique border of vines, flower and way too many leaves.  This one is going to take a long time, but I just loved it.  As at Jan ’09 it’s still a work in progress!

19th Century Baskets

19th Century Baskets

 

June 2001 “Civil War Strippy”  was made in a class held at the Craft Cottage (now Somerset Patchwork).  The flying geese are machine foundation pieced and the quilt was professional machine quilted.  The fabric was from the ‘Rosehill Manor’ range by Robyn Pandolph

Civil War Strippy

Civil War Strippy

Aug 2000 “Chooks in Clover” was made from a Chook Shed pattern for my sister Sharron for her birthday in Feb 2001.  Machine pieced and blanket stitch applique, and very simple machine quilting by me.

Chooks in Clover

Chooks in Clover

Feb 2000 “A Quilt for Grey Days” was made in a class at a local shop (can’t remember the name – think the owner’s name was Jenny) in Brentford Square, Forest Hill Vic. (shops no longer around).  The quilt was all hand applique, first time I used freezer paper.  I hand quilted the majority of this quilt, but being a stabber quilter my shoulder became quilt sore!  So I had it finished off by friend Jules in August 2007.  I just love it and the kids can’t use this one – but my husband can when he sleeps on the couch!  (only when the kids are in with me of course!).

Snuggly Flannel

April 1999 “Grandma’s Old Lace” was made from a Quilters Barn pattern on a retreat weekend.  I stayed at Julie’s barn just before the shop was up and runing with a girlfriend Kate and her family +inlaws that were all quilters.  It was the first time I used foundation papers – it was very quick to make and the accuracy was great with the papers.  Unbeknown to me I was around 3-4 weeks pregnant with my first child (Ethan).  The quilt top sat around for years before I had my friend from Jule’s Quilting machine quilt it Sept 2007.  I then decided I really didn’t like it an ended up selling it to a lady I worked with for her son’s engagement present.

 

Grandma's Old Lace

Grandma's Old Lace

Christmas 1999 “Flowers in Mum’s Garden” was made for my mum as a christmas present.  The pattern idea came from a pattern called “Shower of Flowers” by Pepper Lane Designs.  Hand applique, machine pieced and hand quilted.

 

Flowers in Mum's Garden

Flowers in Mum's Garden

Winter 1999 “An American Sampler” : my first quilt was made in a class at Primarily Patchwork (no longer around) designed by Di Ford.  I hand pieced and hand applique’d and hand quilted.

An American Sampler

An American Sampler

4 Responses to 'My Quilts'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My Quilts'.

  1. ladyfrou said,

    You put me to shame! I’d have just as many photo’s, if not more, but none of them finished!

  2. Jas said,

    Fabulous quilts, even the WIPs! Can you add soem sizes of them when you next add photos, please.
    Your hand work is lovely.
    Hugs,
    Jas xxxx


  3. [...] that she’ll make me a quilt!   She’s just started a blog, and you can see all of her quilts here – I keep telling her she should draft Makara’s Quilt up as a pattern – I’d make [...]

  4. raajia said,

    wow! very very nice Your hand work is lovely

    realy I like very much

    congratulations


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

