Bits My Way


Friday Flaunt

Posted in 1 by jog67 on 05/09/2009

Yes it’s Saturday, but I was up stitching all Friday afternoon and night (until 3am this morning)!  Have been hooked on watching a new vampire series True Blood, so it’s been great just sitting and sewing.  It’s been a fair bit of preparation work during the week, and Friday was my sewing day.  Some girlfriends (see Vikki’s) I go away with each year to the Parsonage have a just set up a new swap – dresden plates.  We each make our own block (mine’s 14″ ), then provide background squares, and a fabrics/s to use in them, with the others adding their touch (in your colourway).  We therefore get to make a block for each person and then at our weekend away next May at the Parsonage we do the unvielling of all the blocks, and then we take them home to sew into a quilt.  In previous years, we’ve done 6″ blocks with applique theme’s, a bag swap and last year a show bag of sewing goodies.

My block prefrence is for a 20 petal dresden (I’ll do the centre’s when I get all of the blocks back and decide on a fabric to suit all), but being the over-achiever or the person that just can’t stop at the one small task, I’m thinking I’ll make some blocks during this time and turn what would be a 9 block lapquilt into a queen size bed quilt, as I’ve still not managed to get one finished for my own bed yet.  Now I’ve just worked out I’ll need to make about 36 blocks!!!!  Think I’ll just keep cutting petals and then sew when the mood takes.

First there was fabric, then samples were made, and now the block kit swaps are made up too!

aug-sep 09 045

dresden 001

dresden 002

aug-sep 09 061

This week I also received my first parcel of the “It Takes Two” BOM.  So again the preparation has started – I’ve never done paper piecing before, it seems easy enough, just more preparation!

aug-sep 09 062

8 Responses to 'Friday Flaunt'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Friday Flaunt'.

  1. cinzia said,

    Your retreat idea sounds like lots of fun. Do you work on the quilt at the retreat also? Your colours are so warm and soft. They will make a lovely quilt and I agree in for a pound in for a dollar so why not go for queen size

    • jog67 said,

      Thanks for your comments, if someone takes up a machine we might sewing them together – we mostly do hand sewing while we are away, bit more relaxing all sitting around together.

  2. Julie D said,

    Love the Dresden’s the colours look lovely. I hope you enjoy paper piecing as much as I do, I find it relaxing, and I like to see the piles of them grow.

    • jog67 said,

      Thanks for your comments, I think your right about the piles growing!

  3. ladyfrou said,

    Jayne, Jayne, Jayne…. I figured I was being virtuous as I’d picked my background and hoped to get them cut this weekend…

    Now look at you, sample kits made up as well as two blocks finished!!!!!

    Just as well I love you, otherwise I’d be really annoyed!

    Seriously, it looks lovely… will be nice to work on something so pretty and organised!

    • jog67 said,

      You know me Vikki, once I get going, I go!


  4. […] showed you my sample blocks last post and you can see Jayne’s blocks here, so I’ve posted another couple of the girls […]


  5. […] Jayne, I’m planning to make some extra blocks, have them already cut out ready to go, as I’m […]


Leave a Reply

